Why are you… YOU?

The Power of Understanding Self

Have you ever sat and reflected on your day, an event, situation, challenge, or relationship and not really know why you reacted the way you did? Be honest with yourself, I am going to be 100% honest with you and say that I didn’t for the longest time. Now, and for the last year or so, I reflect on my day or an event all the time. Wondering why I do things that I do, or don’t do things I should do. If you don’t know the answer and want to find out, there is good news! There are free tools out there to learn more about yourself. And that is what I am writing to you about today, I want to be able to provide you with these free tools that are out there.

*Disclaimer* I am in no way affiliated with any of these companies or sites, I do not make any money for funneling traffic to them either.

Each assessment different and identifies something a little different. I am going to talk about Meyer-Briggs, DISC, and Five Love Languages. You are probably thinking “Michael, that last one, why are you considering that one a personality assessment?”. I will get to that, trust me it is a personality assessment more than you know.

Let’s get after it!

Meyer-Briggs’ 16 Personalities, a lot of you have probably seen this floating around Facebook for a while now, some of you have probably taken it, and maybe a few of you have actually taken the dive and read into it with the purpose of understanding yourself. At one point of another I was in each category of reader. Now, I am in the last group. I want to understand who I am, my motivations, strengths and weaknesses, who I am in a relationship, and who I am in friendships as well. It talks in detail about all of these aspects. For myself, it is spot on. What am I?

ENTP-A “The Debater”

MB Resutls

I can only speak for myself, and I would have to say that it is pretty accurate for me. None of them will be 100% accurate though the point of them is to bring attention to not only the good aspects about yourself, it is to give you the opportunity to bring awareness around your weaknesses and improve in those areas. The Meyer-Briggs is a pretty specific assessment.

 

The DISC Assessment is a more broad assessment with only four areas that you can be placed in however most people are fall into each vector partially, and lead with one or two vectors.

D. Decisive- your preference for problem solving and getting results.

I. Interactive – your preference for interacting with others and showing emotion

S. Stability – your preference is for pacing, persistence and steadiness.

C. Cautious – your preference for procedures, standards, and protocols.

This one is much easier to find out about someone in a conversation or an interaction than the M-B.

My DISC: D-I/I-D (Adaptive)DISC

Based on the graph above I am D-I or my adaptive (meaning when I feel I am being observed or feel I shouldn’t be absolutely authentic) I am I-D.

The entire readout is much longer, more complex, and full of information than my simplification and I highly recommend taking the assessment, have your friends take it and learn about yourself and your sphere. With being D-I, I love people and I love results, and a lot of times these two things clash, because I can get distracted easily. That being said, I am much more aware of when I am not being productive and can lasso myself back into being on topic. I know when I should and should not be around people or get distracted.

On the flip side of that, I know that I am quick to make decisions and I am not good at being a rule follower. Knowing these is crucial because I know I am not a good employee (thank goodness I am self employed) and I also know that I don’t play well in others sandboxes. So when I come across or work with someone that is on the opposite end of the spectrum I can tone myself back some by this recognition.

Lastly, The 5 Love Languages, read into this as much or as little as you want. The assessment is based around  the book “5 Love Languages” by Gary Chapman and I highly recommend it for every person regardless of being in a relationship or even if you are 5llnot even seeking one right now. It applies to relationships of all sorts; family, friends, coworkers, employees, AND intimate relationships of course.  As you can see, there are five love languages and everyone is a mixture of them and there are typically going to be a top couple of them and a bottom few as well.  What is fascinating about this and was a big learning experience for myself was that your strongest love languages come from a place of lack while you were a child and a developing person.  When I learned that I was fascinated, and made me think for a long time if I could understand that for myself and see if it was accurate for me.

I highly recommend everyone take these assessments and take them seriously. Evaluate them, understand your strengths and weaknesses and be cognizant of your actions. Be cognizant of the personalities your relationships, friends, and family and work to build relationships understanding who they are and how act and react to situations. It might seem like a lot of work, and I won’t lie to you, it is. Though let me ask, is it more work to learn to understand someone and to constantly be at odds and never know why someone acts or thinks the way they do?  Ponder about that..

If you are reading my blog I would think that you are on a path of growth and understanding attaining wisdom and strength as we grow together to become the best version of ourselves. I will like below where to find each of the assessments I discussed. I hope you reach back out to me or drop a comment below with what you discovered about yourself and/or your partner!

Meyer-Briggs: 16 Personalities

DISC Assessment

5 Love Languages

We Grow and Prosper Through a Community of Thought

– Michael, Just Michael

Leave a Reply

