Gratitude: Smile, Everything is Great!

Have you ever wanted something or been jealous of something that someone else had? Maybe you wished you had something, a car, boat, house, clothes, lifestyle, job, family…? The list can go on and on. I know I have, and I sometimes still do. We are all human, I will admit that sometimes I still feel like that. I can guarantee that you have done that same as well. It’s okay! You don’t have to tell anyone, it’s just us here. Think about it for a moment or two. Now that you have it in your mind, remember the emotion that encompassed you? Why did you feel that way? I’m here to tell you, why it isn’t a bad thing, just don’t linger on it!

Wanting something someone else has isn’t a bad! It can do a lot of good actually, it can motivate you, give you drive, vision, focus, etc. The key is that you cannot focus on it too much. Create a vision board and put it on there and work towards having one of your own. If you linger too much on the things you want and not what you have, you will create a sense of lack in your life. When you start to feel lack, your drive, motivation, and focus will be  corrupted and you will feel frustration, anger, stagnation. Trust me, I have been there before. I’m sure you have felt that way as well, to a degree at least.

What can we do?

For starters, one of the best ways to be grateful and keep your vision is to perform gratitude exercises during your day. Different exercises work better for people, you will have to see what works best for you. Since there isn’t a “One Size Fits All” method, I will list a few. None of them are overly involved or take too long, they are actually very simple and can be done in a matter of minutes, and can be done at any point in the day. I do recommend doing these exercises first thing in the morning and right before you go to bed. Like how breakfast is the most important meal of the day, look at these exercises as being equally important.

  • The Gratitude Journal: That’s right, take 5 minutes at the beginning of your day and write down five things you are grateful for. Think long and hard about them, don’t just write down things that are surface level items like a car, house, etc. Think about it as to why you are grateful for them and how they have been a blessing in your life.
  • Mediation: There are plenty of meditation applications and programs out there, and I not endorsing any of them in particular. Mediation can take a matter of minutes or it can take longer if you would like. It depends on how much time you have. Some that I have tried have been guided meditations like:
    • Headspace (Google Play and the App Store) which has 10 free sessions of 10 minute meditations.
    • Deepak Chopra’s guided meditations, which can be found on YouTube. He has guided meditations for a multitude of reasons. He is a world-renowned medical doctor, public speaker and author. More than 80 books in 43 languages, and 22 New York Times bestsellers.
  • Gratitude Affirmations: Stay with me on this. Yes, I am talking about repetitively saying something over and over again, embodying it, and believing it. I was not a firm believer in affirmations as a whole, until I decided I was going to give it a fair try. Now, I am a firm believer in them. There are some great affirmations out there to start with or you can make them up yourself. There are only a few criteria: they must be positive, the must be specific, they must be personally convicting and calling you to action. At the bottom of the post I will post some excellent affirmations to start with, some of which are mine, some are not.

There are many more ways to show gratitude or be grateful for the things you have, I wanted to give you great ones to start with. If you want me to share more, let me know in the comments below.

Now that you have a few places to start, and I know you will give them a shot. Because, why else would you be here? If you want to make a change you have to shut off the part of your brain that says, “this is/feels weird”, “this isn’t for me…”, “I look ridiculous, and someone is going to judge me…”. If you want to make a change in your life, you’re going to have to leave your comfort zone, and what you have always done. So strap in and get excited!

“If you do what you’ve Tony Robbinsalways done, you’ll get what you’ve always gotten!”

-Anthony Robbins

 

Being grateful is one of the most fundamental things you can do in your life. Appreciate everything and everyone in your life. It is a crucial part of personal development and a corner stone in building the most successful you. It isn’t always easy to show be grateful, especially when some days are tougher than others. It is essential though!

It is not happy people that are grateful. It is grateful people that are happy!

 -Michael, Just Michael


Gratitude Affirmations

“God’s wealth circulates in my life; God’s wealth flows to me in AVALANCHES of abundance; all my needs, desires, and goals are met INSTANTANEOUSLY by infinite intelligence; and I give thanks for ALL of my good now and for ALL of God’s riches, for I am ONE with GOD, and GOD is Everything!”

-Anthony Robbins

“Every person and every experience has something I can learn and grow from!”

“I am a force for good, and the universe is working with me to achieve my goals!”

“I am a loving, caring, influential man (woman)! People look up to me for guidance and I am a force for good!”

-Michael Drone

Leave a Reply

